Tips for finding inexpensive nihonto?

Hello all!

I am new to nihonto collecting and have been trying to see how inexpensively I can get started. I know most collectors look for quality pieces with a great polish (or pay thousands for a polish), and one day I may be in a position to do the same. Right now however I am on a budget and looking for the best way to get my first authentic traditionally made blade. Not really looking for showato at this time.

I am okay with a poor polish and some rust or patina, but I would like to avoid permanently damaged blades (broken blades, super deep rust pitting, etc). Are there any tips on where I should look for these lower collectability pieces that most collectors would pass by? Are the ~$600 blades I see on ebay from Japan the only way to go? I assume the dealers on this forum only deal in much nicer pieces but do any of them have a "bargain bin" for people who know to ask?

Any suggestions or advice are greatly appreciated,

Justin B.

@axeman1984 Welcome to the forum!

The most inexpensive and value-generating thing you can do would be to start by buying a few books. Not only will these be relatively cheap (probably < $100 for the first 3), but they will arm you with info that will help you save in the long run by avoiding costly mistakes.

That said, the books are lot more interesting and fun to digest if you have a study aide to go along with them. I recommend trying to find a sword that is in as good a polish as your budget will allow so you can get the most out of studying key features like shape, hada, and hamon. Blades in good polish do not have to be terribly expensive. If you shop around, probably you could find a wakizashi, in good polish and in shirasaya in the $500-$700 range. Below $500 and you start getting into the realm of condition issues. 

• Like 3

Like Matt I think it best to find a wakizashi as they are better value than a katana as everyone wants a 'Samurai sword'