Help me identify menuki

GeorgeLuucas

Hello, it's been a while since I've posted. I recently acquired a wakizashi in koshirae with kiri-mon fuchi and kashira. And a WW2 saya I think

I can't for the life of me determine what the menuki is depicting. It looks like someone in the past had the same issue, because the Ito is a little frayed and loose around them. I can move it a little, but fear damaging a koshirae set that I enjoy

I am a beginner and novice, but have been reading and studying. I am finally grasping some of the vocabulary, and getting better at identifying features

Can you tell what the Menuki is for me? 

full set.jpg

menuki.jpg

Menuki1.jpg

menukiiii.jpg

menukii.jpg

I may be way off target here but it looks like a fan and - - something in the background. A strange looking fan for sure but that is the impression it gives me.

Closest I can find are these - image.png.948d1679e901b710cd92b774fd517b1f.png

https://www.pinterest.com.au/pin/374854368970587509/  I would be surprised if this is correct. But someone has to start the search ! :)

Could the "thing at the back" be a daikon? Like in this set?  https://www.jauce.com/auction/p1044391226

image.thumb.png.73f7b91df6f5aae394374d8f56676bcf.png

Edited by Spartancrest
new data

That Daikon looks awfully close! Especially how the end of the 'leafs' are different. One side theres three "tendrils", the other side there are two

Thank you for the input. Here's a couple more photos, but I'm not sure if they will reveal anything new. Thanks again!

menuki11.jpg

menuki12.jpg

Only just seen this so apologies.

They look like good-quality 四方手 'shiode', and kura horse saddle/harness behind. There are four on a saddle at the four corners, which gives them their name, 'four-direction hands/handles', the pronunciation softened over the centuries from shi-ho-te.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1