Newly acquired sword, and I'm a bit of a newbie.

Hello,

I recently won an auction for two Japanese swords. One is a kyu guntō the authenticity of which I have already verified. However this 2nd sword I am not able to find any information on, as it has no markings on it. I only bid the value of the kyu-gunto, so this one was just a bit of a bonus. I normally collect milsurp firearms, bayonets, and other militaria, so I was hoping this might be a shin guntō. I had someone tell me it has Muromachi era patina and that the  shape is characteristic of Bizen (kurijiri nakago) which was one of two major sword producing sites in the civil war. But honestly that sounds too good to be true. Was hoping to get some more opinions. Also, the hilt is missing so any ideas of how I would replace it in the even it IS authentic would also be appreciated. 

1680380608426478.jpg

rge.jpg

Welcome, 

From the picture here it is hard to say anything except, I'm leaning towards real though quite the abuse victim. 

To me it looks a little like suriage - shortened from sugata or overall shape. But the nagako doesn't look like it, more Edo period. 

Better photos and close up on the handle and kissaki - tip of the sword, dimensions etc, are necessary. 

Others will chime in shortly. Also, please sign with atleast your first name👍

15 minutes ago, Fuuten said:

Welcome, 

From the picture here it is hard to say anything except, I'm leaning towards real though quite the abuse victim. 

To me it looks a little like suriage - shortened from sugata or overall shape. But the nagako doesn't look like it, more Edo period. 

Better photos and close up on the handle and kissaki - tip of the sword, dimensions etc, are necessary. 

Others will chime in shortly. Also, please sign with atleast your first name👍