A Concerning Crude Nakago

Conway S

Hello all. I am new to the message board and only a novice collector of WW2-era Japanese swords (I mainly collect WW1/WW2 headgear).

I acquired this sword through my father who recently purchased it at a local gun show. Upon disassembly, I was immediately confronted by the misshapen and crude nakago as well as the oddly placed rivet hole. The fittings and scabbard don't concern me, although I should mention it does not have any spacers. I would appreciate any thoughts on the authenticity of this piece. Going forward, I probably won't buy another sword unless I see it in person first.:( Let me know if more pictures are necessary. Thank you.

Conway

image.png.1f2b4e55a17dde6173ff3962e2b35218.png

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

These are often Chinese fakes.  Although, the nakago is actually worse than normal fakes.  The blade tip appears to have been shaped with a grinder.  Curious to see the fittings, too, if you don't mind.

There are many swords with badly formed nakago that were made in occupied territories, and it is often very difficult to tell them apart from the fakes.  

• Like 3

Thanks Conway for the crossguard/sword guard pictures.  I figured I had seen that tsuba somewhere else and sure enough see the link below.   Jonathan AKA @AlphaRaider has a sword that has a similar crossguard.  Jonathan's sword has a single kanji character on the tang, so can you check your tang for any such characters.

WW2 Japanese sword Marking, Page 2

• Like 1

With great difficulty, I was able to remove the habaki. No markings found. Does the picture provide any further indication of what this sword might be (Chinese fake or some other non-Japanese made period sword)? There was a blue/green gunk under the habaki. 

image.thumb.png.0eaf2c11968b58db83a055fa2f81bda4.png

• Thanks 1

Thanks for posting and welcome to the group. haha not like I'm not new myself.