Tsuba symbol identification

dir

I'd be grateful if anyone can help with the identification or meaning of the symbols on this tsuba, which has a shakudo rim and on both sides are groups of three (two a couple of times) stokes pointing to the middle (amida-yasuri-me?). I did find a tsuba with the same sukashi, though it is a different shape and with a different design. The description is that it is simply geometric decoration - but I feel there must be more to it.

Thanks and regards

David

4A.JPG

4B.JPG

alamy.png

Possibly a representation of some trigrams (the same kind of symbols used on the Korean flag)?

These trigrams are called "hakke" in Japanese. Each has multiple meanings. I'm not an expert on trigrams. Wikipedia can explain them much better than I can. 

But since there are only two on your tsuba, I am kind of doubting myself. Anyway, just a suggestion. 

http://sanmei.com/contents/ja/p2310.html

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bagua

I think Bruno has it covered - Chapter headings from the "Tale of Genji"

https://tsubakansho.com/tag/genji/

David the image Alamy is trying to sell in that clip is in the public domain for free from the Rijksmuseum in Amstedam Number- AK-MAK-1112 - I know because I did a book on the whole collection. :laughing:  How far from the Museum do you live? You can probably get a closeup view!

AK-MAK-1112.jpg

• Like 1

Same pattern on a tsuba from my collection:  

fitting-0116-small.thumb.jpg.9adf7727b78371246fccbddb5510cf67.jpg

I did research this pattern a little bit and I was not able to fit it into the patterns from the Genji monogatari as per the table reported previously by Bruno.

Regards 

Luca

• Like 4