Help to Attribute Wakizashi (Period/Region/Smith)

quoshy

Hello everyone,

I'm looking for assistance in attributing my wakizashi. Specifically, I'm looking for help in determining the time period, region and ideally a smith for the wakizashi in the attached pictures. I've been collecting and studying Japanese swords for a few years now and this is to further my own understanding and not for commercial purposes. I can usually narrow down a time period and region on my own but this one has me stumped. My favorite part is the boshi but I also find it confusing to attribute. Apologies for the imperfect state. Any advice, insights or otherwise are greatly appreciated.

Measurements: 

Motohaba: 2.8cm

Sakihaba: 2.0cm

Motokasane: 0.55cm

Nagasa: 49.2cm

Sori: 1.0cm

Other information:

Boshi: Kaen (hakikake)

Yasurime: Kiri

Hamon: Midare (ish?) Nie-deki

Jihada: ko-itame (I think)

post-3805-0-23441000-1588463588_thumb.jpg post-3805-0-49705400-1588463617_thumb.jpg post-3805-0-65820700-1588463636_thumb.jpg post-3805-0-09144400-1588463657_thumb.jpg post-3805-0-59101500-1588463698_thumb.jpg post-3805-0-28797500-1588463717_thumb.jpg

post-3805-0-82042900-1588463733_thumb.jpg post-3805-0-01671600-1588463771_thumb.jpg post-3805-0-80034400-1588463791_thumb.jpgpost-3805-0-66167900-1588463807_thumb.jpg

Higher res pics here: https://imgur.com/a/1gSxnrJ

post-3805-0-93593500-1588463682_thumb.jpg

post-3805-0-15378400-1588463820_thumb.jpg

Very personal guesses:

Very pronounced fumbari, with some sori - probably around 1660. The bands of nie is one of the more popular styles of the period, and its hard to be precise without seeing the kaeri in particular, some hada etc would help as well.

I would say from what is seen in the boshi, it kind of goes after Inoue Shinkai. But you do find similar things even in Edo Hojoji.

Kirill R.

• Like 1