Importing to the UK

Mr Nolan

I am a complete novice at this having yet to purchase anything (katana is the preference)

Having perused dealer sites for the past few weeks there is certainly no shortage of items that would fulfill my requirements, But,they mostly seem to be in either Japan and the States, there seems to be only one prominent dealer in the UK and the prices seem high compared to similar items from abroad, the only thing that's holding me back at the moment is that I need to be aware of any pitfalls in importing from Japan or the states or another EU country specifically with regard to customs, I certainly do not relish the thought of spending a good few thousand pounds to have item pawed at by some jobsworth customs official.

Is there any system whereby you can bypass this sort of thing by perhaps having some sort of prior agreement with customs? I did note on another thread that one or two UK collectors have had no problems but others have had items held up.

All advice on this matter would be gratefully recieved so thanks in advance.

Nolan

There are many swords in the UK and really there is no need to buy from abroad for your first sword.

Paul Bowman (UK based collector) is selling a few Hizen swords in the classifieds of this site. That should be your first port of call.

I would also recommend you consider joining the Northern Token Society:

http://www.northerntokensociety.org.uk